Postlicensing

Charlotte Schedule (Mingle/CRRA)

Northern Region Schedule

What is a postlicensing course?

Until June 30, 2020, a North Carolina provisional broker must complete at least one 30-hour Postlicensing course each year by their licensure anniversary date to maintain an active license status.  All 90 hours must be completed within three years of initial licensure in order to retain their license and remove the provisional license status. 

A provisional broker’s license will be placed on inactive status if the provisional broker fails to timely complete Postlicensing courses.

There are three 30-hour postlicensing courses that make up the program:

  • Broker Relationships and Responsibilities (301)
  • Contracts and Closing (302)
  • North Carolina Law Rules and Legal Concepts (303)

Note: Students are not required to take the three 30-hour courses in any particular order.

Beginning July 1, 2020, a provisional broker must complete all 90-hours (all three courses) Postlicensing education program within 18 months of initial licensure to maintain an active license status.

Examples for postlicensing course deadlines based on the revised rule (effective on July 1, 2020)

***Please contact the North Carolina Real Estate Commission at 919-875-3700 with any questions about this rule and your specific education requirements.***

Licensure Date

Postlicensing Course Deadlines based on revised Rule (effective on July 1, 2020)

February 1, 2018

February 1, 2018
+18 months
= August 1, 2019

All three Post courses must be completed by June 30, 2020, or this license will be inactive on July 1, 2020.

December 30, 2018

December 30, 2018
+18 months
= June 30, 2020

All three Post courses must be completed by June 30, 2020, or this license will be inactive on July 1, 2020.

March 17, 2019

March 17, 2019
+18 months
= September 17, 2020

All three Post courses must be completed by June 30, 2020, or this license will be inactive on July 1, 2020.

August 2, 2020

August 2, 2020
+18 months
= February 2, 2022

Source: 2019 NC Real Estate Commission (2019-2020 General Update)

Important

Per Commission Rule 58H.209 the student is subject to withdrawal or denial of Broker Postlicensing education credit by the Real Estate Commission if he/she enrolls concurrently in Broker Postlicensing classes at the same or a different school that result in a provisional broker participating in Broker Postlicensing course sessions for more than 30 classroom hours in any given seven-day period.

Attendance requirements

Broker Postlicensing students must attend a minimum of 90 percent (27 hours) of all scheduled classroom hours.

For each 30-hour Broker Postlicensing course, students cannot miss more than three hours of scheduled classroom hours (Commission Rule 58H. 0210 (b)). This requirement applies for course repeats as well.

Note: you must have a North Carolina provisional broker license to enroll in the Broker Postlicensing courses.

Pricing

The 30-hour postlicensing courses cost $215 each.  Members of the Charlotte Regional Realtor® Association and Carolina Multiple Listing Services, Inc. receive a $20 discount ($195 member price).

Textbook

All postlicensing class students are required to have the current version of the North Carolina Real Estate Manual. There are no exceptions.  The required textbook is not included in the price.  The online version can be purchased directly from the NCREC.  The hard copy can be purchased online or in person at the Realtor® Store. Please contact the store before purchasing your book to ensure you receive the correct edition.  You can also contact the store at 704-940-3126.